Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / CWI Questions (Power Plants)
- - By commonarc (**) Date 12-16-2005 00:52
Greetings,

I am a union Boilermaker and would like to become a CWI.
We work primarliy in power plants and weld boiler tubing (E7018), stainless, inconel, monel and chrome steel (E9018). My background is as follows: Boilermaker for 6 years and a certified welder for 19 years working everything from heavy industrial shops to pipelines.

My questions involves what type of CWI exam I should take. I just finished a job in our local power plant and the company CWI suggested I take the API-1104. He said to get this one at my own expense as a start. Is this the CWI type that most power plant contractors require? Is D1.1 also required? I have dozens of other questions but I figured I start with this one. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Parent - - By gkcwi (**) Date 12-16-2005 12:59
Hello,
Just a few thoughts for you.

1. Are you a high school graduate/ have a GED?

2. Can you get past employers to sign off as to your position that has a direct relationship to welded assemblies fabricated to a national or international standards that will relate to design or production or construction or examination or repair? This time has to account for 5 or more years.

You must pass a three part exam: a open book test on code: You can use AWS D1.1, API 1104, or the ASME- the choice is yours. A closed book test on fundamentals. And A hands-on portion on practial applications of welding inspection knowledge. The AWS and other groups have a varity of home study and class room instruction material avaiable, it seems that a greater percentage of people who use these resources pass the test the first time.
Parent - - By commonarc (**) Date 12-16-2005 14:49