Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / UT Vs RT
- - By Ariel D C (**) Date 12-16-2005 06:01
Need Expert Advice:-

Contract Spec asks for 100% UT & RT on butt joints and to assess in accordance with AWS D1.1

Actual event : UT was carried out on 1" thk butt joint (groove weld) and the result was satisfactory. Thereafter, RT was done on the same joint but the result was unsatisfactory due LOF and porosities.

Note that UT was carried out twice using inhouse NDT technician and by a NDT third party. Both of them gave the same result - Satisfactory.

Question raised by the owner: WHY UT missed out those defects?

If let say you are the Project Engineer in-charge, how you will handle the situation. AND if you are the Third Party Inspector, what will be
your suggestions.

Thank You

Ariel D C

Parent - By gkcwi (**) Date 12-16-2005 13:13
As a tech I would like to know:
1. Grade of material.
2. Actual welding symbol used and was a welding procedure avaiable and USED.
3. Was this a static or cyclically loaded nontubular item?

As far as why you got different results a lot depends on the above items and more.
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 12-16-2005 20:28
Like any technology that involves humans, there are good UT operators and those that aren't as good. The same applies to any other disciplines (consider the number of doctors that practice medicine. Not all of them graduated in the top 10% of their class).