Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Overwelmed
- - By skalkaho Date 12-21-2005 17:49
I could not find this on past topics. But I am hoping this summary has been previously published and someone can point me to an answer.

Is there a breif summary that describes how state and local codes, the D1.1, welder certifications, ASME and any other codes all work together? I hope my question makes sense. I am just looking for a very high level description. I am not a professional welder or a weld engineer but I am a design engineer and I want to reference the D1.1 or WPS's correctly on my misc drawings. And I want to understand what qualifications my welder needs to have. My work may involve tieing into building structure, doing machine design, etc. No pressure vessels.
Thanks for any help.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 12-21-2005 18:32
You may need the help of a local, knowledgable CWI to help guide you through D1.1, in particular, the Qualification section. What you seem to be asking for would take some considerable time to cover in a single post. But if you have the time you can post some of the more direct questions and we'll be glad to help where we can.
Couple questions to get you started with the welder qualifications:
1) welding process(s)?
2) welding positions required? (ie. no sense qualifiying welders for positions like overhead or vertical if all weldments can be positioned in flat or horizontal positions)
3) types of joints? ie. all fillet welds, or are there groove welds also?
4) thickness of materials to be joined?
5) types of materials to be joined? ie. ASTM #'s

This should get you started, there will be many more to come as you answer these.
John Wright
Parent - - By Bill M (***) Date 12-21-2005 19:36