Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Dumb questions from another newbie
- - By planebuilder Date 12-21-2005 18:38
Questions for the electrical gurus in the group:

Hello all. I just joined this forum because, well, I’m a newbie and I need some help. I’ve been reading through many of the posts on this form and this seems like an informative place to be. I hope some of you experts can give me some advice.

I guess we should start at the beginning, where there is good news and bad news. The good news is I just bought a TIG machine and on the verge of becoming a novice TIG welder. The bad news is I’m about to start using it and on the verge of becoming a novice TIG welder. I’m confident that this machine will provide many hours of frustration, cursing and other lessons in patience, things I became familiar with in a college welding class about 10 years ago (and haven’t touched since). In order to emancipate the many hours of irritation trapped within the bowels of this machine, I need a place to plug it in. So, the first order of business is to do some electrical work around the shop (the wife calls it a garage).

Background: The machine is a Thermal Arc 185 Inverter. It needs a nominal 230V circuit with the ability to carry 38 amps at max output and 30% duty cycle for stick welding, which I will probably never use. For TIG, max current draw is 29 amps at 30% duty cycle. I will almost certainly be operating well below these limits.

I think my two simplest options are:

1) Replace my unused 120/240V dryer plug (NEMA 10-30R) with a straight 240V NEMA 6-50R receptacle using the existing wires and 30 amp breaker. Then make a 25 foot power extension cord out of 10/3 cord so I can reach my project; or,

2) Install a new dedicated 40 amp circuit in a more convenient location near my workbench on the other side of the garage…I mean shop.

Now my questions: