Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / certified welder
- - By new-welder Date 01-10-2006 00:49
Hello, my name is Don and I am not only new to the forum but I am new to welding. I started welding two years ago. My training has been on mig OJT. I did take a welding class at the local vocational school. That helped me immensely with the set up of my welder at work as-well-as learning stick, tig, and torch. I want to become a cerified welder. I have downloaded the CW requirements from the AWS website. I am confident about passing the sheet metal test. I am also confident, thought not nearly as much, I could pass the pipe welding requirements. I have a few questions about the whole process. 1. Can you certify in just the sheet metal or just the pipe welding or is this a package deal? I realize the pipe welding requirements only covers a couple of positions. 2. Is there a written exam or is it all practical application? 3. When it says you are responsible to provide the materials for the test, what does that include? Is it just the steel or is it the rod also? Am I responsible to provide the tools such as clamps for fit up, grinder, torch, or welder? 4. What is a coupon? 5. On the pipe welding test am I required to prep the pipe edges on site or is it allowed to have that done prior to reporting for the testing? I am sure I will have more questions and any information you could volunteer would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 01-10-2006 08:20