Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / AWS D1.1 vs. ASME IX
- - By galem Date 01-12-2006 00:13
Our design drawings for some components for a large outdoor radio antenna structure require conformance to AWS D1.1 and submittal of WPS, PQR, welder and inspector qualifications, etc.

The contractor has submitted a WPS and corresponding PQR that are based on ASME IX. I am a structural engineer and am not familiar with pressure vessel and piping codes.

Since the WPS indicates that the qualified thickness range is 1/16" to 0.672", and the steel plate to be welded is 1" thick, I don't have any problem rejecting the submittal.

However, if the next submittal is also based on ASME IX, I wonder how to evaluate it. Reject it outright? Buy ASME IX and meticulously compare it to AWS D1.1 (no time or budget for that!)? Ask the contractor to compare the steel grades, other variables, and test performance requirements of the two codes for me? What would you do? Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 01-12-2006 04:13
AWS D1.1 allows for prequalified welding procedure specifications if the applicable requirements of D1.1 are met.

ASME, in general, does not have prequalified WPSs if you discount the use of Standard WPSs permitted by some ASME construction codes. The essential variables listed in ASME and the required testing may not be the same as those needed to qualify a WPS in accordance with AWS D1.1 (assuming the conditions of prequalification are not met). The visual acceptance criteria used to evaluated a test sample per AWS D1.1 is different than ASME. AWS D1.1 requires each test sample be subjected to RT or UT before mechanical testing. ASME does not require any RT or UT of the test samples.