Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Newb Question About Power Supply
- - By zona70 Date 01-16-2006 17:42

All - please humor my “newb” question. I am a hobbyist welder - mostly on cars etc. I have a basic 120V MIG unit (Lincoln SP-135T) with a bottle and as I begin to work on heavier (for me) materials like .1875 or .250 wall box that are at the limit of this welder I am dealing with lots of breaker pops and poor performance. I know that the "best" answer would be to by a bigger welder but this is not in budget right now and the 1/4" material is really at the outer edge of what I will be working on right now so I would like to make my 135 work if I can.

I am getting ready to install a dedicated 120V/20A drop for the welder but as I look at this I think that it would not be any more difficult and only nominally more expensive to install a 120V/30A drop. I have been meaning to replace the cord on the welder for some time with something that gives me a little bit more range and I have a 30' section of 10GA 3 conductor cable with a twist lock 120V/30A connector that I can use as the new feed cord for the welder.

So - the questions…

1) Does the SP-135T have an internal load control that limits the current that it can pull. In other words, can I hurt the welder by plugging it in to a circuit capable of providing 30A @ 120.

2) Given that the welder performs much better on a 20A dedicated circuit as opposed to a 15A - Will going to the 30A circuit allow the welder to perform any better than a 20A.

Many thanks for your time…
Nathan
Parent - By OSUtigger (**) Date 01-16-2006 19:02
Zona,