Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / WELDING ON A DOZER
- - By NAPPYKAUKAU Date 01-20-2006 01:00

HELLO, I AM NEW TO THIS FORUM. I HAVE A PROJECT WERE I HAVE TO BUILD UP A FRONT IDLER (THE FRONT WHEEL THE TRACK ROLLS ON) ON A DOZER.
CAN I USE A 7018 5/32 ROD TO DO THIS AND WOULD I HAVE TO DO ANY SPECIAL PREP.

THANKS
Parent - By RICHCHARLES (*) Date 01-20-2006 01:19
I would suggest a 5/32 251 hardfacing electrode for its excellent metal-to-metal abrasion resistance.
Parent - - By SPARKYCA (**) Date 01-20-2006 01:29
hi , I'm no expert on heavy equipment , but I built up a set of worn idlers before. The shop foreman had me stick weld in a zig-zag pattern as i turned the idler wheel ( they were off the machine ). We used a liquid-air electrode called cx-90. It has better impact resistance than 7018 and seems almost every manufacturer has an electrode for metal to metal wear. There are also mig wires available. Perhaps some others may have some more info to help. - WS
Parent - By PhilThomas (**) Date 01-20-2006 04:01
For SMAW welding, try using Stoody Build Up LH (http://www.thermadyne.com/stoody/literature/pdfs/Cse001.pdf) to restore the dimensions, followed by 2 layers of Stoody 1105 (http://www.thermadyne.com/stoody/literature/pdfs/Cse002.pdf) to provide the wear resistance.

If you can weld it semi-sutomatically, use Build Up-O and 105.

Parent - By NAPPYKAUKAU Date 01-20-2006 02:54
THANKS GANG ! OFF TO THE STORE I GO!!!!
Parent - - By cmdwelding (*) Date 01-20-2006 03:13