Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Galvanized Coating Removal
- - By Aporter Date 01-27-2006 22:51
I'm an art student at my university with an emphasis in metal sculpture. Recently I've been working with chain and creating forms with it. Lumber store chain is easiest to find but in order to weld it I need to heat off all the zinc coating on it. This ends up not only costing alot of acetylene, but also burning a hole in the ozone above the shop. I was curious to see if anyone knows any methods of soaking galvanized/zinc coated steel in solutions that will dissolve the coating, or something effective. I would order it online, but then again, chain is heavy and shipping might be a bitch.

Thanks for the help.
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 01-28-2006 01:34
Hello Aporter, I don't know which hardware stores are in your area, but you should be able to buy bare chain without any sort of coating on it at all. There may be some sort of chemical solution that would strip this off for you but I don't think you would really want to go down that road. If you have an Ace Hardware, Lowe's, Home Depot, True Value Hardware, or just about any other sort of hardware store, you should be able to buy bare uncoated chain in many different sizes. Good Luck, aevald
Parent - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 01-28-2006 10:39
Almost any acid will disolve zinc. Vinegar should work, Muriatic acid (HCl) surely will. Be careful, muriatic acid is also corrosive to people, rubber gloves and apron and eye protection all highly recommended; fumes very irritating, good ventilation required. Lots of hydrogen bubbles will be produced, work somewhere that overflow wont hurt anything. Hydrogen is very flamable, protect from ignition sources.