Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Can't see....
- - By CamSweet Date 02-02-2006 15:19
Hi all,
I'm a newbie here and my interest revolve around welding as part of my hobby, auto restoration. I've been using MIG for some time now and just bought my first TIG. I had a speedglass, utility for my hood. I suspect that my limited success with MIG welding was based on the sound. Now, I've found that I just can't see. I see the glow of the arc but can't see the puddle, the seam or anything. Any hints? Is 10 too dark? Should I try additional ambient light? Any hints/advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,

Cam

Parent - By swnorris (****) Date 02-02-2006 18:21
In general:

Shade 5 is used for light spot welding.
Shades 6 and 7 are suitable for welding with up to 30 amps.
Shade 8 is for welding with 30-75 amps.
Shade 10 can be used when welding with 75-200 amps. (Most Suitable for MIG Welding)
Shade 12 is used when welding with 200-400 amps.
Shade 14 is required when welding with over 400 amps.
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 02-02-2006 19:55