Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / tig rods
- - By lumpyguy Date 02-04-2006 16:55
I am new to Tig welding and I am doing not bad and it is tough
I am welding 1/8 mild steel and everything is sanded and cleaned and I can get a good pool and can fusion weld great but alot of undercutting but as soon as I try and use filler it goes poppy and the black pockets form. the rod I am using is 3/32 with copper coated. Should I use something different I am set at 10 cfm and ok tung setting. also I an using a 1/16 2% tung and a nice point. all parts and tung and filler were cleaned to remove grease. I used a denatured alcohol (brake cleans) I am going to get some acetone. please any help I am getting great penetration and I want to get the welds filled properly. please any help thanks!
Parent - By 357max (***) Date 02-04-2006 17:45
Is the filler rod ER 70S2, if it is you have the correct filler. If it is RG45 you have an oxy-acetylene rod and should not be used for GTAW. You may want to drop back to 1/16" diameter filler rod for the 1/8" thickness.
Parent - By MBlaha (***) Date 02-04-2006 18:54
Undercutting is usually the result or too much heat, or wrong angle of the tungsten. I agree that you probably have oxy/fuel filler wire. Allthough it is unlikely, check any way to make sure you have the proper gas and not a mix gas like 75/25. You should be using pure argon.

Mike
Parent - - By lumpyguy Date 02-04-2006 23:45
yes I just checked and the filler has r45 stamped on the end of it. I told the guy I needed 3/32 tig rod for mild steel I guess he sold me the wrong stuff. thanks for the help can you use filler for stainless on mild steel cuz a buddy gave me some 1/16 stainless rod but I have not tried it.
Parent - - By welder5354 (**) Date 02-05-2006 06:03
No problem using stainless filler on carbon steel.