Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / NDE Certs (RT excluded)
- - By x77 Date 02-15-2006 16:03
I was curious as to whether anyone knew if it would be best to get such certifications such as UT, ect locally or are there well reputed places online to do such things. I have to do something while I await my CWI test results and i figure this would be a good place to start.
Parent - - By jon20013 (*****) Date 02-15-2006 16:51
I really doubt you'll find a reputable place you can get certs online (probably some good online study materials) because, as I'm sure you'll know, certification requires hands on testing; i.e., practical. Hellier is probably one of the more recognized schools but not being an NDE Tech myself thats just about all I know.
Parent - - By x77 Date 02-15-2006 18:57
That makes sense. I have a little money to put into it and I really wish I knew what to go for first, I have many plans for later but the order in which i execute them will have to be played by ear i suppose. I am down in s. texas and all i hear is that UT techs are in demand, thats about the only lead i can follow.
Parent - By jon20013 (*****) Date 02-15-2006 19:26
UT Techs are in demand everywhere. From what I understand its a real good field provided you have a knack for the math part! In my opinion, the MT and PT field is flooded so I wouldn't spend spend any money pursuing that if it were me. Another good and somewhat related discipline is Eddy Current. Okay, those would be my suggestions but like I said, I'm not an NDE technician so I'm only speaking from my own observations.
Parent - - By tito (**) Date 02-15-2006 19:27