Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / 210LE BOOM CRACKED
- - By cuco (*) Date 02-23-2006 07:45
IM NEW AT HEAVY EQUIPTMENT

IVE BEEN GIVEN A JOB TO FIX A CRACK ON 210LE BOOM
ITS ABOUT BOTTOM MID SECTION OF BOOM
AND ITS ABOUT TWO INCHES GOING INON BOTH SIDE
THE BOTTOM PLATE IS ABOUT 1\4" AND SIDE PLATE IS ABOUT 3\16"

I HAVE 1\8"& 5\32" 7018 ROD; .045 NR211 INERSHEALD; 3\32" NR232 INERSHEALD.

I NEED ADVICE ON WHAT THE BEAST METHED WOULD BE.

THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR HEALP.
Parent - By MDG Custom Weld (***) Date 02-23-2006 17:07
For liability reasons, I would contact the manufacture and ask for a welding procedure that pertains to the part of the boom you are going to fix. We do many repairs/ modifications/ upgrades to crane booms and other lifting equipment. Most manufactures understand that over time things need to be repaired, and they have all of the proper procedures to ensure nobody gets hurt from a repaired piece of equipment. This will cover your liability and ensure the proper fix was put in place.
Parent - By CHGuilford (****) Date 02-23-2006 17:34
MDG is giving you the correct advice. You really do need to get the repair procedure from the manufacturer. I don't think you want the liability of an incorrectly repaired boom, nor want to learn the boom failed and hurt or killed anyone.

We do boom repairs on our own equipment and based on that experience, I can tell you that the filler metals you have listed are not what needs to be used. The manufacturer knows exactly what the booms are made of, how to repair them, and what testing needs to be done.

Chet
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 02-24-2006 03:37