Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / 6010 electrodes
- - By boring (*) Date 03-14-2006 03:40
A guy at work gave me about 30# of fairly new 1/8 dia. 6010 electrodes. I have never used them before, and only have experience with 6013, and 7018, 7024, and limited 11018 experience. I've been told they are difficult to work with, but I recently started fabricating some equipment to use in strongman competitions like you may have seen on ESPN. I use a lot of sch. 80 pipe, and 1/4" wall tubing, and the 6013s have alwys been sufficient. However, I buy them in the small cans from Home Depot so they aren't wet, and my understanding is that the 6010s can live in my shed in a storage tube, and I don't have to worry about moisture content in the coating. Sorry for the long post, but I can't look this gift horse in the mouth.
Parent - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 03-14-2006 06:44
Hi Boring!

If I were you I would find out what type, grade of metal pipe & tubing you are using first, then match with the appropriate welding filler electrode... you can go to your local welding distributor once you find out what grade of steel you're working with and they should be able to help you out most likely better than "Home Depot"...

This way, you not only cover you Buttocks (CYA)... You also will cover your toes, your floor, well - you get the picture!!!

Respectfully,
SSBN727
Run Silent... Run Deep!!!
Parent - - By texredneck (**) Date 03-15-2006 08:00