Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Help! welding info on In 939 castings
- - By RonB (*) Date 03-22-2006 11:30
NEED help from the experts? Trying to pass a weld cert with Inconnel 939 castings" I have tried everything i can think of to pass this cert but having trouble with cracks found in x-ray; I`am using c263 tig rod and the sample piece is preheated and then heat treated after welding' aparently no one here has had any success either, could we be using the wrong filler rod? any tips or sugestions would be apreciated thanks!
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 03-23-2006 02:22
I'm no expert with nickel, but my experience has been that preheat isn't necessary as long as theere is no surface moisture. Keep interpass temperature as low as practical. Grind to remove surface oxides between passes. Wire brushing alone isn't aggressive enough to remove surface oxides between weld passes. No weaving, use stringers.

Check for contamination by low melting point constituents like sulfur, lead, etc. Contamination from markers, paint, cutting fluids, etc.

You mentioned this is a casting. Did you grind the surfaces to be welded to remove surface contamination associated with the casting process?

Good luck - Al
Parent - By RonB (*) Date 03-23-2006 11:42
Al' thanks for your reply! I have certified for In 718 before along with numerous other exotic materials so i assure you all the prep work was done (grinding with a carbide cutter) not just wire brushing ,and then some to assure a sqeaky clean surface, yes a mild pre heat was done to remove moisture. Ronb
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 03-23-2006 14:28
Exactly what type test are you taking and what kind of "cracks" are being found.

I don't have experience with your specific type of inco..... However do have plenty experience with it's cousins.