Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Question about tigging an aluminum alloy
- - By Mahonroy Date 04-08-2006 23:03
Hello, I am new to the forum, had a question and thought I might ask...
Anyways I have a Miller Tig with argon gas feed, I am trying to weld these injector bungs (I believe to be 6061 aluminum) onto this supercharger intake (that I was told was L25 aluminum, which is erupoean spec), I also had a company tell me that they think the alloy may be 319/356T6 or 808. Anyways so I am not that experienced, I have welded some aluminum before (generally I have a hard time with it), but this I just cannot seem to weld it properly, I got a part welded on but I am having issues, beginning to jack up the injector bungs, etc. It just seems that I am not doing something right so I thought I would ask you guys on some advice...seems I have a hard time getting a puddle to form and when I go to dip the filler rod into it the filler rod just balls up and doesn't want to stick...

Anyways I have it set to AC, the tungsten is sharpened to a point (though I heard I may want to ball up the tungsten when welding aluminum to spread the gas around more, haven't tried it yet but I do now have a ball of aluminum hanging off the end of it if thats the same). Also what do you guys do clean off the aluminum good? Seems I may be having a problem with the metal being dirty...

The tig is a Miller DX, and the filler rod I was using was aluminum labeled as ER4041 which says recommended for welding 3003, 3004, 5052, 6061, 6063, and casting allows 43, 355, 356, and 214. I remember at the sore there was another kind of aluminum filler rod labeled as something else, maybe I am not using the proper filler rod as well?

Thanks any help is greatly appreatiated!
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 04-09-2006 04:51