Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / mil-std-1689
- - By marquality Date 04-14-2006 20:06
Hi All, I'm new to this welding stuff and would like some help with mil-std-1689 if anyone has the knowledge.
Per para 4.8.1 each activity should have a written procedure for workmanshp inspection. Is anyone familiar with this? Could anyone provide a sample?
By the way, we deal with Navy work, no wet welds.

Thank you in advance.
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-17-2006 15:16
MIL-STD-1689 dealt with ships structures. The standard was cancelled and replaced with NAVSEA T9074-AD-GIB-010/1688.

Section 4 dealt (MIL-STD-1689) with the qualification of welding procedures, welders, NDT procedures, and NDT personnel. Paragraph 4.8.1 requires the activity, i.e., you if you are welding and/or performing NDT (including VT), to develop a program that describes how the activity (again, you) is going to ensure everyone involved in the manufacturing, fabrication, welding, and inspection of the part or component is aware of the quality requirements, manufacturing methods, and how and when the part or component is giong to be inspected. Essentially, a quality control system, the training / certifications each person is going to receive, a flow chart or traveler showing when and how each part or component is going to be checked, who is responsible to check the part or component, and inspection forms that will serve as objective evidence the checks, tests, and inspections were performed. The report forms must include a signature and date. Depending on the nature of your work, this can be complex or a relatively simple document.