Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / having problems welding 304ss with tig
- - By turboshelbydak Date 04-16-2006 02:48
hey guys a new guy here,i am coming to you guys in hopes you can give me some help,your about my last hope.i am new to welding,own a thermal arc 185tsw tig machine.ive called them and not gotten much help,the problem is i can weld aluminum with no problem at all,in fact looks pretty darned good.with stainless .064 round tubing.i can see my weld pool real well with aluminum,i have a hard time for some reason controlling the filler rod and torch without creating these massive balls that totally defeat the purpose of using a tig,these pipes have to look nice and im stuck.i thought it was amperage,but if i crank it up,i burn a hole in the tubing.i have been using 70 amps and causing the ugly welds.i just cant seem to direct or control the weld puddle with steel,any suggestions?im using straight argon,1/16 red tungsten,1/16 filler rod.if any of you guys can give me suggestions,id really really appreciate it.
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 04-16-2006 06:27