Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Can't see - Eye Shield too Dark?
- - By - Date 01-02-2001 00:33
I am a novice welder. I got a little wire feed welder that came with a hand held eye shield. I have been practicing on some scrap steel. I will be needing to do some small welds, however, I cannot see what I am doing through the eye shield. Everything is too dark. I cannot even see my start point let alone my weld angle or the speed I should use. So far everything is guess work. What eye shielding do you pro's use? Any suggestions or advice deeply appreciated.
Parent - By boilermaker (**) Date 01-03-2001 01:34
If you want to see where you're going to strike your arc at, you should buy a "blink" lens. All it is, is a battery or solar powered welding lens that darkens when it senses an arc. You can pick one up from most welding shops, (provided they're worth a damn) anywhere from 95$ to $375. Arc one makes a good lens, or you can go with a Speedglas Utility, which is about $150. Or if you don't want to spend that kind of money, you can go to any welding shop and buy either a gold or green lens in a 9, 10, 11, or 12 shade...I'm guessing from the sound of your dilemma, you have a 12 lens in the handheld one. Oh yeah, when you get a lens, if you decide to go the less expensive route, you can get yourself a cheap soft hood for less than 20 dollars. Myself, I won't use a dark lens because my work requires good starts, and you can mess up with a dark lens and put arc strikes all over the parent metal...which isn't good.

Hope this helps,
John
Parent - By YumpTTC (*) Date 02-19-2001 05:09