Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Searching for Large Fabrication Shop
- - By jerryhoush Date 04-23-2006 13:56
I am a member of the purchasing department for a major manufacturer located in North Central Florida. We fabricated, machined, assembled, painted and tested our product in-house from 1973 until 2003. Customer order requirements grew to the point that we decided to outsource ALL of our fabricating and machining requirements in order to refocus all of our resources on the assembly and testing side. From 1987 until 2003 I was a Senior Machinist responsible for the machine work on these parts. I moved into the Purchasing department, along with my partner - a welder of 30 years with the company, to lend our expertise in the manufacturing side of the product to facilitate the transition from manufacturing to outsourcing.

At this point we have over 10 suppliers trying to keep up with our demand for the large components and 15 additional suppliers for small parts. We are bugeted to build 125 of these completed units this year, meaning 125 of each component. These companies have been working between 56 and 72 hours per week for over 2 years due to our not being able to identify additional sources. We MUST get additional suppliers onboard before we simply wear these people out. They need a break and we need additional suppliers. We are NOT looking to replace any of them, but to bring additional suppliers onboard.