Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / MIG- flux core to solid w/gas
- - By bradgray Date 01-11-2001 13:09
I was wondering if you could answer a novice question for me. I bought a used Cebora 83-210 MIG unit. Labeled as a "NAPA Hobby MIG 100." It's a cheap one, and uses flux-core wire. The instruction manual says "If gas shielding is desired, the gas bottle is available at a welding distributor."
My question is this: to use gas and solid wire, rather than flux-core wire, how does the gas get to the tip, in general? Do I need to run a seperate line to the workpiece, or does the gas line run along with, and attach to, the torch? Can the torch be changed to a line that accomodates gas? I've done arc welding and oxyfuel welding, but I'm new to MIG.
I'd appreciate any help you could give me.
Parent - By Neal (*) Date 01-12-2001 23:05
Check the back of your machine and see if there is a fitting which might have a plastic cap on it. If it does have a fitting you will need a bottle, regulator and short piece of hose. If there is a fitting then most likely your current gun/cable will transmit the gas thru a nozzle where the contact tip threads in.

Good luck
Neal
Parent - By John H. UK (*) Date 01-13-2001 23:01
Hello,