Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Tig welding university formula 1 car
- - By ramcharger84 Date 08-31-2006 01:57
I am part of a university formula 1 racing program. I am new to this program but the program is not new. The program is roughly 10 years old and races a wide variety of universitys from Michigan State to MIT. The car run a 600cc engine, everything is hand fabricated from the shocks to the carbon fiber panels. The only things that are bought are the engine, rims and tires. The car is going to weigh about 400 pounds plus the driver. My question is what should the setting be for the tig welder, hears what I know.
-It is a Lincoln Electric Square Wave TIG 175
-I believe its straight argon in the tank
-The tubing to be welded is 4130

My questions are as follows:
- They are currently using a straight "neck" torch, should a angled "neck" help in the welding?
- What type of filler rod should be used, a.k.a diameter and composite?
-What should the setting be for the welder be?
- What should the gas setting be?
- What size cup?

Thanks for whatever knowledge anyone has to offer! I appreciate it!
Parent - By rockinrobert Date 10-06-2006 01:44
ramcharger84, I am a chassis builder for McKinneyCorp ( www.mckinneycorp.com ) and will give you a few suggestions to start out with in your endeavour.
1. I would think the angled neck torch will work much better
2. For filler we use ER80S , it works great for 8000hp Fuel dragsters, it will be perfect for you ;-) .045 or .062 ( 1/16") should be fine for your application.
3. If I knew what tubing diameter and wall thickness you were using, it would help alot. Start out around 80 amps and adjust from there, less for thin wall ( .049 and thinner ) more for thicker ( .058 on up ).
4. the argon setting should be between 18-22 cfh no more than that.