Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Field work
- - By Tommyjoking (****) Date 04-19-2007 10:14 Edited 04-20-2007 00:04
You fellas make me kinda miss working in the field (job shop-portable fab/repair).

I got it made these days working for (aircraft manufacturer) on airplanes.  I have a degree in electirical engineering but I found early on I prefer to work with my hands  not a pencil.  Work in my own little shop mostly on small hold it in your hand sheet metal parts.  Its challenging for sure.....but I miss that its broke can you do it kind of scenario I got with field work.  Like all "true" welders I take so much pride in my skillset....but i feel cheated sometimes just tig welding very thin structures.....i miss burning a 308 on some pipe or hard surfacing some shear blades on a crab claw.   Not to mention coming up with Fabrications on the spot that solve issues....thats why I became a welder...using my Brain and my hands.     But what the hell a Shop with A/C and my own work area aint a bad way to end up i figure.    

The real point of this thread I reakon is to hear what each of you have to say about what you've done and where you have been.
Parent - By wrangler97 (*) Date 04-19-2007 23:58
i would have to say as young as i am i am proud to have been a part of the lake blalock dam project, we cut out and reinstalled a new sluice gate 60ft below riverbed

so basically i got to fit and weld a 10ft diameter pipe from the inside... lifejackets and harnessed and hooked to crane at all times was awesome!
Parent - - By medicinehawk (**) Date 04-20-2007 09:46