Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / stainless pipe
- - By Henry Finkle Date 07-01-2008 00:32
what is the proper way to weld stainless steel pipe? I have about 2 years experience welding carbon w/gtaw and was wondering if there was any similarities between the two as far as technique, heat, root opening and so forth. I'm not sure but I think the pipe will be a 2" heavy wall.
Parent - By ericpratt (*) Date 07-01-2008 02:10
be sure to purge, gap will close up you so be carefull, turn down purge before finishing root so it doesnt  give you suck back.
Parent - - By sbcmweb (****) Date 07-01-2008 02:43
There's so many variables with stainless, depending on class, thickness, process....The list goes on. As far as GTAW, sure the same principles apply, but stainless is an entirely different ballgame. It reacts MUCH different than mild steel I.E. the HAZ, warpage, sugaring,(carbide precipitation) cracking, etc. I'm no expert, but that's a VERY basic introduction to doing SS as opposed to carbon steel pipe. There's some great guys on the forum who can answer the question much better that I. I'm sure many of them will offer their suggestions & experience. Good luck! S.W.
Parent - - By Henry Finkle Date 07-01-2008 03:16
what would be reasonable size gap if i'm welding with 1/8 wire
Parent - By jon20013 (*****) Date 07-01-2008 03:43
A very "general" rule of thumb is set the gap same size as filler.  Be careful though, put good tacks in and feather them nicely as your gap will want to close up on you as you come around to the opposite side.  Leave your purge going until you have a MINIMUM of two layers, or even better, 3 layers.
Parent - - By sbcmweb (****) Date 07-01-2008 03:50