Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Vehicle Insurance
- - By txwelder (*) Date 07-17-2008 16:28
I've been doing pipleline work for well over 20 years and have never heard of this one.  Let me know if you have.  One of my welding buddies' boys is buying a welding truck already rigged out from him and it does have insurance coverage.  His son is claiming that because he is not listed as a driver on the proof of insurance that a company held his rig pay!?  (sounds fishy to me!!!!)  The son also claims he will not be able to work for any pipeline company unless he is a listed driver!?  I have never heard of that or had that problem.  I think as long as the vehicle/rig has insurance coverage in the actual owner's name, it shouldn't matter who is using it!  That's kinda like if we had to borrow a welding rig from a friend, we won't be listed on his insurance.  So, let me have your opinion on this line of bs!
Parent - By snuffman (***) Date 07-17-2008 16:38
Sounds like bs to me. Why would they have a problem if the law doesnt? If I borrow your truck tomorow amd total it the cop doesnt care if Im on the insurance he wants to no if the vehicle is insured. If the vehicle is not insured then he will ask if Im insured. Sounds fishy
Parent - - By tnhnt (***) Date 07-17-2008 16:38
Sounds like a loop hole for not having to pay the guy. They should have asked for the insurance card before they let him on the job. And then to say something when money is owed sounds kind of funny to me!!!
Parent - - By txwelder (*) Date 07-17-2008 16:43