Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Stainless Rod for Certification
- - By armywelder Date 08-21-2001 11:41
Can anyone tell me a good stainless filler metal for welding a 3G (up) weld test. I'll be welding on 1" thick 304SS. We've had problems in the past welding up with a stainless rod.

While we're on the filler metal subject, can someone pass on a good written reference for them? A web site would work too. Thanks for your help!
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 08-21-2001 13:54
I have used Avesta, Sandvic SS electrodes and actually thought I was a SS stick welder.

I then went back to McKay and realized it was only a dream.

Good Day

Gerald Austin
Parent - - By armywelder Date 08-21-2001 15:00
Thanks for the help. I look into those brand names. Now the situation has changed. We're now certifying a welder 6G using 2" OD pipe 304 SS to 304SS.

Pretty sure the electrode we'll be using is E308L-16. Brand name is Harris Welco. Anyone used that one?

Any ideas about diameter of stick? Thinking about 1/8" for root and possibly 3/32" for cover pass.

Parent - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 08-22-2001 02:26
Thats mighty big for root.

I'm more of a 5/64" and 3/32" person but that could be more related to MY skill and not the rods.

Good luck

Gerald Austin

Parent - - By dasimonds (**) Date 08-23-2001 06:04
Is this an open root test? With E308L-16? What schedule? I can't say I've ever heard of anyone rooting stainless pipe with stick rod.
Parent - - By armywelder Date 08-23-2001 11:38
Yes, this is an open root test. I figure a 1/16" of an inch root opening. 2" SCH. 40 304 SS on the pipe. I know it seems a little odd not to TIG the root. But, hey, we're kinda outdated here and doing the best we can with what we have. Unfortunately, stick will have to do.
Parent - - By dasimonds (**) Date 08-24-2001 00:21