Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Printed Code Books?
- - By jeffstan Date 12-06-2013 16:47
Hi all,

Newbie here and I have a quick question. I was told that only original copies of code books are allowed in the shop; that printed PDF copies in three ring binders will get you in trouble (my company has all the code books in PDF on our server). Is this true? Does it apply to all codes (D1.1, CWB, ANSI, etc)?

Thanks,
Jeff
Parent - - By SCOTTN (***) Date 12-06-2013 17:23
If you're printing pdf's from the originals, D1.1 doesn't allow reproductions, doesn't allow the content to be stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any way, including mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without prior written permission of the copyright owner.  This also probably includes this response.

I know AISC wouldn't allow me to purchase an electronic 14th ed. Steel Construction Manual and post it on our corporate server for everyone at work to be able to access it.  Instead, I had to buy eight manuals for all to share.
Parent - - By jeffstan Date 12-06-2013 17:53
No, we are a corporate member and have access to the original pdf's from AWS. But I was told I can print a copy to take home with me for study (when I was going for my CWI), but it couldn't come in the shop.
Parent - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 12-12-2013 22:11
So keep the copy home and purchase an official softcover version of the code for the field since you already have a .pdf  version @ work and then you'll CYA!:yell::eek::twisted::grin::smile::wink::cool:

Respectfully,
Henry
- - By 803056 (*****) Date 12-06-2013 23:26
Only if you get caught!

Al
Parent - - By fschweighardt (***) Date 12-13-2013 01:26
I seem to remember you are allowed to print 1 hard copy of aws digital publications for backup purposes, but I could be full of it
Parent - By unclematt (***) Date 12-13-2013 22:40