Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / C-spec Software
- - By swsweld (****) Date 03-12-2014 04:08
Does anyone have any experience with C-spec software for WPS, WPQ, Weld Office or any of their programs? I have a friend that's starting a business and wanted me to work with him to get a few things going in the QA/QC department. I know it's pricey but is it easy to set up and use? I've browse the web site and am familiar with the claims and capabilities but wanted some reviews from colleagues on the forum.
The targeted industries will be nuclear, power boilers, oil and gas…so having a great quality system will be a huge plus when dealing with the big league.

Any input on C-spec or other high caliber programs are appreciated.
Parent - - By 46.00 (****) Date 03-12-2014 06:48
I have some experience with C-Spec, they are quite good but as you say very pricey and not the easiest to learn to use.It also has it's problems like any other software.On the plus side, it is easily acceptable by your controlling bodies, i.e NRC,DOE etc. You might want to ask your friend to have a look at TWI software, still not cheap but cheaper, and I find it easier to use:

http://www.twisoftware.com/products/home.jsp

'welding coordinator' is a pretty good suite of software for a reasonable price and was used and adopted by CB&I when over in the UK, I believe they use it extensively now on their projects. TWI also have or offer a slightly better support system than CSPEC in the fact you can speak to a human pretty easy.

Pipewelder_1999 used to generate custom made weld software programs that were pretty good as well.
Parent - - By SCOTTN (***) Date 03-12-2014 11:56
swsweld,

Lincoln Arcworks is free.  I've used the D1.1 version for several years now.  It's a great tool:

http://arcworks.lincolnsupport.com/files/D11v25a1.exe