Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Weighing used daily welding wire to measure productivity
- - By mgibson Date 03-13-2014 20:33
Hello, I am a quality manager for a construction company that specializes in fabrication of new and used offshore platforms.  Recently the fabrication manager came up with the idea to measure welder productivity by weighing rolls of FCAW wire before welder begins, and at the end of work day.  His deposition rate was calculated using approximately mid point of welding parameters.  It was determined that Welders should have an arc time of approx 25% of a 10 hour day, and Welders should be depositing an avg of 25 lbs/week.  I can understand using this method when welding continuously such as in a fillet weld on a fab table or station where other factors such as access, gouging, and welding equipment relocation to make a new weld.  But this seems to me impossible to use across the board and be able to make a confident and just decision regarding a Welders productivity.  Has anyone ever encountered this before, and can someone give me their opinion as to why this is a good or bed method to determine welding productivity?
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 03-13-2014 20:42
Length of weld per hour/day/month.

Size of welds required.

Arc on time.  Or operating factor.

Those are the essentials that you must have to evaluate.

Depending on how accurate you want to be, you may use these to pinpoint waste and calculate productivity.

Google search Jack Barckhoff... His book Total Weld Management is the best full treatment of welder productivity.

Also the Lincoln Weld Procedure Manual dedicates chapter 12 to weld cost and provides all the tools and formulae you need.

I don't understand how you are getting only 25 lbs of weld per week from a welder if he has an arc on for 25% of a 10 hour day... That makes no sense.