Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Welding over Metal-core with a different welding process
- - By rmdrmd15 (**) Date 09-15-2014 11:23
I have heard it's not good to weld over metal-core weld with a different welding process like GMAW or GTAW or SAW, etc. but no one has been able to tell me why and I haven't found it on the web why or I just haven't used the correct keywords in my search.

So, experts, why would someone tell me not to weld back over a weld made by metal-core weld wire?
Parent - By SCOTTN (***) Date 09-15-2014 13:33
I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but....

As far as the structural welding code goes, tack welds incorporated into final welds must be cleaned, and then made with electrodes meeting the requirements of the final welds.  They both have to meet applicable quality requirements, be either qualified or prequalified with a WPS, be made by qualified personnel, and they should have at least the same tensile strength (E70xx, for example), and notch toughness where applicable.  As far as I know, tack and final welds can be made by different processes provided they are not in contrast with applicable code requirements.  Here are a couple good links by Duane Miller and Omer Blodgett….

Scroll down to “Tack Welds Within The Joint”….

http://www.jflf.org/pdfs/papers/design_file103.pdf

Scroll down to “Remelted Tack Welds” and Incorporated Tack Welds”….

http://weldingdesign.com/blodgett/tack-welds-joint-0409
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 09-15-2014 13:38
Al mentioned something the other day I think about MCAW and dilution/silicon issues on assemblies that exceeded six layers....
http://www.aws.org/cgi-bin/mwf/topic_show.pl?pid=261392;hl=layers

I'm curious as well.   I've heard cautions about welding over self-shielded FCAW in the past but not MCAW.
Parent - By OBEWAN (***) Date 09-15-2014 14:18