Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Anti-Spatter Spray
- - By Tyrone (***) Date 09-30-2014 18:34
Hey guys,
Does anyone has experience using anti-spatter sprays on ultra high strength steels?  I'm just getting into researching what's out on the market I can test.
I'm afraid that the stuff can introduce weld defects or hydrogen cracks.
Thoughts?

Tyrone
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 09-30-2014 19:09
Three thoughts,  (prolly not what you want to hear)

1)   Anti-spatter spray is NOT intended/engineered to be placed in the weld zone, but rather on the adjacent base metal or fixturing.

2)  If welding Ultra High Strength Steel it would be assumed that you are working with process controls and procedures that are so well thought out that spatter should not be an issue.  Unless you are working with gage metal and short circuiting transfer, you ought to be able to develop a procedure to produce spatter free welds.

3) If you must use the stuff, find a hand pump delivery system rather than an aerosol can.  Keeping compressed stuff near a weld circuit has always been stupid.

Now for opinion......  95% of the time; Developing procedures or detailed work instructions to include anti-spat is like planning on making bad welds.
It's like keeping some rebar handy to slug bad fitups instead of planning an upstream process that provides materials that comply with established shop tolerances.

Example:  Somebody requested I develop a downhill GMAW procedure to deal with large gaps on endplate connections.... I said NO Instead we took a walk upstream and discovered we had a problem with both calibrating the cutting equipment and a fitter that was willing to "make it work" instead of rejecting bad supply passed down to him.

Now having been all harsh... I fully expect you to tell me that this is indeed special work :)
Parent - - By OBEWAN (***) Date 09-30-2014 20:00