Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / spider web cracking
- - By rokkboxxer Date 10-08-2014 00:45 Edited 10-08-2014 01:04
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to welding and hold no certs. Also, this is my first post. I was looking over a piece of equipment at work and came across what looked like to be failed welds. I was told not to worry about it, and what I found was normal. It was explained that it was the hot dipped galvanizing starting to flake and shrink away from the steel. This didn't sit well with me, my gut instict brought me to you. So here I am looking for answers. I am attaching photos to get some advice from someone who can explain me what is going on here. Thanks in advance.
Attachment: 5a.JPG (228k)
Attachment: 5c.JPG (113k)
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 10-08-2014 02:32 Edited 10-08-2014 02:36
Hello rokkboxxer, from what I see in those photos I don't believe that those cracks are related to the welds, they look more like cracks in the galvanizing in that area. In other words, it looks as if the galvanizing pooled there and as it cooled it resulted in the cracks that are seen in the photo. Often times you could see issues with the continuity of the galvanized layer due to poor cleaning prior to dipping. If it was welded with a flux-cored process and the slag was lackadaisically removed you might see some of those issues or if dirt was left in spots the galvanizing might cover it over and then fail down the road by flaking off or other such issues. Best regards, Allan
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-08-2014 03:40
Hello Rokkboxxer,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

Overall I agree with Allan.  Overall.  BUT, I believe it prudent to acknowledge that any issue with coating is applicable to the welding and all other work associated with the welding.  In this case, poor clean up.