Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / WPQR
- - By WELDICCAWSCWI (**) Date 10-18-2014 16:09
Under API 1104 and CFR49.95 is it permissible for a contractor to use a WPQR from another company
rewrite the WPQR on their company letterhead and submit it to the client .
Parent - By 46.00 (****) Date 10-19-2014 03:09
I am no expert on API but I would have thought copyright laws would apply to what you are suggesting? It is not ethical at least!
Parent - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 10-19-2014 05:03 Edited 10-19-2014 05:08
The only way that what you're describing can be approved, and accepted is by the EOR (Engineer Of Record) accepting the paper and if it's not accepted, then re-qualification is mandatory... Because the EOR is the only person that has the authority override the code if it states otherwise unless the owner objects but that's another story... Just remember to get it in writing and signed by the EOR to CYA... At least, that's how I remember it.:eek::grin::lol::yell::twisted::yell::lol::surprised::smile::roll::wink::cool:

Respectfully,
Henry
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-19-2014 13:52
Under most all codes, as I recall, you need to run your own.

By doing so, you are proving that at least one person in your facility can qualify under the exact set of parameters that you plan to use to complete the job.

The electrode manufacturer and classification used, process, gas, operating parameters for volts and wire feed speed or amps for SMAW, etc.  Just because the basic variables have been matched doesn't mean everything has or that you have even one person who can pass a weld test to that WPS. 

Besides, without the written permission of the company who ran the original you are stealing proprietary information as to how they work and the monetary outlay that they made to prove they can accomplish the work.