Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / Construction aids on b31.3 piping
- - By blindeman Date 05-01-2015 15:58
Are construction aids (temporary braces to hold a spool square, extensions to hold spool on jackstands) allowed in b31.3? I cant seem to find anything saying no, but my gut is telling me to reject it.
Parent - - By 46.00 (****) Date 05-01-2015 17:07
Why?
BTW Welcome to the forum!:lol:
Parent - - By blindeman Date 05-01-2015 17:30
Large 10" spool with multiple tees and elbows pulled down to perform revisions. Contractor welded 2" diameter pipe in a couple places to hold spool in jackstands in order to hold it plumb and level for revision work.
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 05-01-2015 17:39
Hello blindeman, I am not an expert in B31.3 piping by any means so take this for what it's worth. If "arc strikes" are a no no in this application then I would be very leary of items being " welded to " the spool. They will obviously remove these upon completion but can you judge whether there has been any detrimental results from these "temporaries" when this is done. That would be my only concern, but as I said, I am not an expert in B31.3. I am sure that others can more thoroughly address your question and will await their replies. Good luck and best regards, Allan
Parent - By WeldinFool (**) Date 05-01-2015 18:12