Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / What is Structural?
- - By msharitt (**) Date 05-07-2015 15:58
Whether it be my lack of knowledge or my lack of digging, or both I can not seem to find the answer to a question. Most D1 codes are straight forward, D1.5 is for bridge construction, D1.6 is stainless and so on. The company I am new to holds the standard of their work of or greater than D1.1. So D1.1 as a minimum but obviously there are many things to strive better than just that as a minimum standard. Also keep in mind that all the welders took the 3G test with upward progression. Currently we're building what I call chutes. Rectangular plate work, flange on each end, some lined with AR. All plate is corner fit. I walk around and notice a welder making a downhill pass. My first thought is 3.7.1(All welding in the vertical must be in the uphill progression(yes there are two exceptions)) I let him know that he's not certified in that and move on. I asked the shop foreman and he said that since it's not structural it's not technically D1.1 structural steel code to go by. I have seen uphill and downhill passes cut and etched, I know it's not as solid downhill. But my question is, what is considered structural steel? Is plate work structural? And if it is not then what constitutes something as structural or not? Also if it is not then what code is plate work too? Thanks in advanced, maybe I gave enough information for someone to help my curiosity.
Parent - - By SCOTTN (***) Date 05-07-2015 16:17 Edited 05-07-2015 16:28
To try to answer your question of what is considered structural steel, in my experience, when AWS D1.1 is the specified code in the contract documents, the AISC Steel Construction Manual, which includes the Code of Standard Practice, is also specified.  The COSP is available at this link: