Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Qualifying Welders to B2.1 Standard WPS
- - By GMI Kyle (*) Date 08-31-2015 18:18
Hello all -

This is my first time posting, so please excuse my noob-iness.  I'm new to the world of welding and these forums.  In the last six months or so I've learned about writing (prequalified) WPSs and WPQs, and have become familiar with D1.1 (at a rudimentary level).  These forums have been extremely helpful in reinforcing knowledge and clarifying different issues. 

I'd like to learn more about B2.1 as a few articles I have read mention that B2.1 Standard WPS's have the most stringent variable control and may be applicable to multiple standards (D1.1, ASME Sec IX, D14.3, etc).  We have not yet purchased a copy of the B2.1 code; and before we do, I was hoping to gather a bit more information about the code, as well as gain an understanding of how welders are qualified to the Standard Welding Procedure Specifications that are included (I think) in B2.1.

- Are the (I believe there are around 30) Standard WPS's that have been approved by AWS included in the B2.1 manual or is each Standard WPS a separate purchase?

- How is a welder qualified to a Standard WPS?  Do I hand the welder the Standard WPS as-printed and have him/her take the test?  Should I refine the Standard WPS or enter it in a company document? (To further clarify: I realize if we were to adapt one of these WPSs the "instructions shall not be less restrictive than provided in the WPS;" but can a SWPS be employed verbatim?)

- To my knowledge, welding position is a non-essential variable in B2.1, and B2.1 WPSs are acceptable as an alternative for D1.1.  If a welder has qualified to a B2.1 WPS through means of a WPQ done in the 1G position, yet a 3G weld is required on a fabrication (with all other variables being the same), is that welder qualified to make the 3G weld?