Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Embeds are the story of my life
- - By cawelder (**) Date 11-14-2003 01:48
I hate to keep posting so much, but Im in a tough situation. I just got my CWI in Febuary, and I got a job as an inspector in July, which before that I was a welder for seven years. It seems like every job I go on, there is a problem with embeds. I went on one today were a barjoist landed in the center of where two tiltup panels come together. The problem was that the embed on one panel was an inch and a half lower than the other. So the contractor put six 1/4" flat bars under the joist, and welded stringers along the edges to tie the flat bars together. So they shimmed up the joist. I couldnt find anything in the code book on this, and it wasnt on the print. I cant see this a being in compliance, but I need something in writing to reject it. Does anyone know were I can reference this information?

Thanks again
Chuck
Parent - By thirdeye (***) Date 11-14-2003 09:13
Actually, don't you need something in writing in order to accept it? I would expect to see an approved drawing issued through engineering detailing the fix.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 11-14-2003 11:43
I would simply make a recommendation in your report that you found this situation and feel it needs further attention by the EOR for acceptance. It obviously needs to be at the correct elevation and needs some sort of filler. You simply found a situation and need to make sure it is corrected the way the EOR approves. I'm not sure it is written that "thou shalt not use shims", but it sounds like it is not by his design that these two items are not at the correct elevation.
Good Luck,
John Wright
Parent - By CHGuilford (****) Date 11-14-2003 12:34
I agree with John. I would simply note what you have observed and refer it to the engineer for resolution.
Chet Guilford