Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Leaving For Training in 4 Days
1 2 Previous Next  
- - By Rosey (*) Date 01-13-2004 12:53
Hey I have been looking through here and am beginning to think I am in way over my head. I am leaving to go to MO for training in UT PT and MT and I have no experience in welding. I guess I thought it would be a cool job but do you all think I should look at something before I get down there.
dear lord help this girl out

Jen
Parent - By CHGuilford (****) Date 01-13-2004 14:18
You don't HAVE to have experience in welding in order to learn NDT. But it helps in understanding what you are testing and why.
I can't think of anything that will help in just 4 days, other that what you are already doing, that is net surfing for general info. I would just go in with eyes and ears open and take it from there and enjoy the learning experience.
It has always been my personal belief that a person can do nearly anything he/she sets the mind to do. If you do find yourself in over your head, just keep swimming. It really doesn't matter how deep the water is, you always swim along the surface. You will know what else you need to learn when you're done.
I hope all goes well for you.
Chet Guilford
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 01-13-2004 14:27
Hi Jen,
I agree with Chet. But don't let all the new terminology get to you when you start in on those classes. You'll feel very overwelmed if you have never heard of the terms that will be used. Take good notes, this is very important. After you finish your classes you'll need those notes to refresh your memory when trying to put this new info to practice. Where are you going to take these classes? I spent some time at Krautkramer's NDT school in Lewistown, PA.
Good Luck and wish you the best,
John Wright
Parent - - By Rosey (*) Date 01-13-2004 18:45