Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Use of grinder during welder qualification
1 2 Previous Next  
- - By burnhard Date 06-04-2014 10:56
Hello,
I am a welding inspector AWS CWI(license expired) working in Europe for Total Corporation. One of our project is in Italy where I was asked to witness welders qualification. The test was a 3G on a 50mm plate. The welder was using a grinder between passes and I objected since in my humble opinion what is the validity of a test if you can use a grinder!
The owner of the shop asked me to show him where it is stated that a grinder cannot be used during qualification. Since i could not find anything in the D1.1 they did all their tests happily grinding away. I know the D1.5 does not allow grinding during testing. You comments are appreciated.
Sincerely,
Burnhard.
Parent - By js55 (*****) Date 06-04-2014 12:18
Briefly, this is an old subject of which there is much in here that can be searched. The jist from my perspective is that if it isn't prohibited then don't prohibit it. IMO it serves no purpose.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 06-04-2014 12:21
Your humble opinion was not asked for and your humble opinion should not change the way a test is conducted.

You said yourself, you were hired to wittness.. Not as a consultant.

That being said:    I think things like the use of grinders or the restriction should be stated in the written instructions of the welding test.

D1.1 is silent on grinders during testing...  This means that it is allowed.

Now if the agency managing the testing wants to limit or ban the use of grinders they may certainly do so.  You as the wittness have no such authority.    Record and report is what they pay you for eh?

It's the same with time limits...  A welder could take 2 days to weld a test coupon and the D1.1 code would allow it...