Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / welding manganese metal to schedule 80 black pipe
- - By kenbeam Date 06-22-2018 03:31
any advice would help, i have a rock crusher cone i believe is made out of manganese metal and i am going to weld a piece of schedule 80 black pipe to the edge of it along with some support gussets to secure pipe to outside of cone. i have a miller wire feed welder, should i be useing stainless wire and what type of gas i use 75/25 gas for the small jobs i do. i am not a welder by trade so any advice would really help, their are some eye brackets welded in the outside of cone which i do believe stainless was poss used as the welds are not rusty, but i did pick up cone useing them and it weighs about a thousand pounds.. the pipe i am attaching has no safety conditions it simply is a Tube to drop another pipe into that holds a bbq rack, i AM also not concerned about rust as the pipe will be mostly under ground level.. THANK YOU
Parent - - By Jim Hughes (***) Date 06-22-2018 10:43
Kenbeam,
how do you know the material is manganese metal? I don't know much about rock crushers but have a lot of experience with ball and roller mills, none of which were made from that material. Can you give more detail about what this is? Maybe post some pictures?
Parent - By kenbeam Date 06-23-2018 02:53
hi Jim ive only been told by a few people that rock crusher cones were made out of maganese, so i did some online searching and found alot of crusher cones are this type of metal, although they can be brittle they are a very hard metal
Parent - - By Tyrone (***) Date 06-22-2018 11:14
Hi Kenbeam,
Welcome to the Original AWS Forum.

I have no input on your question, but was wondering how you found this Forum?
It's neigh impossible to navigate to from the aws website.

Tyrone
Parent - By kenbeam Date 06-23-2018 03:01